TrafficLightTree

For the directionally impaired…

The Jersey Shore

OC2Before I launch into my post I have to say that I’ve just noticed a Chickie’s & Pete’s in this picture I took on the Boardwalk in Ocean City, NJ this summer. Missed opportunity! Just a few weeks ago I was in Philadelphia enjoying my first Chickie’s & Pete’s experience: Crabfries® (they trademarked the term) and whatever that ridiculous cheese sauce is. Are you supposed to dip everything into it? Because that’s what I did. We actually talked at length about how to get the sauce back to the hotel — how we would buy a Crock Pot at the Target next door, create a diversion at the buffet and make off with the cheese. It was a very detailed plan, down to the amount of time the cheese would keep without a heat source. Sad. Anyway, now I know I have another shot at the sauce on my next visit to the OC.

Ocean City, New Jersey is a different kind of Jersey Shore. No Snooki, no Situation, no GTL here. Not to be confused with Ocean City, Maryland (ick, but that’s another story entirely), Ocean City, New Jersey is a dry town. Gasp! Why would I love a dry town? Because it’s gorgeous, clean, safe and weirdly historical. (Founded by Methodists in the 1880s as a Christian retreat. Read more here.)

My family has been vacationing in Ocean City for almost a hundred years. As a boy my grandfather hopped the train from Philly and spent summer days on the boardwalk. My grandparents brought their family to Ocean City every summer for vacation. My Mom brought us to the OC to vacation with the extended family and, now we return the favor and bring Mom to this familiar place she loves.

OC11

Music Pier

Ocean City is in multiple time warps. Shriver’s Salt Water Taffy dates back to 1898. The Music Pier and Flanders Hotel were built in  the 1920s. The amusements started up in the 1930s. But everywhere I look, it’s the 1970s, because that’s my frame of reference. Look… they still sell candy cigarettes on the Boardwalk.

You can still buy candy cigarettes on the Jersey Shore

And there’s mini-golf. Lots of mini-golf. We’re obsessed.

My family is obsessed with mini-golf.

Sticky buns, fudge, hermit crabs…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We stopped by the Ocean City History Museum – yes, there is such a thing and it’s worth a visit. This is the original switchboard from the Flanders Hotel.

OC7

And down the road a bit, if you’re interested in seeing other parts of the Shore, there’s Cape May:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And Wildwood, which I have to admit, we tend to drive right through. The architecture (using that term loosely) is actually kind of interesting. It’s called “Do Wop” but I suspect that’s a name that was attached to the kitschy motels that line the main drag recently, in an attempt to keep them around.

OC10

Back in Ocean City, summer of 2013, this was the hottest thing on the Boardwalk:

OC4

How does it taste? Like bacon… dipped in chocolate. It’s gross.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on October 7, 2013 by in Culture, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address and, like magic, notifications of new posts will appear in your inbox.

Join 57 other subscribers
Peace Love Parenthood 2.0

Raising BIG Kids - The Next Chapter

Safer Business Travel for Women

expert travel security advice and support for women

2GirlsinDC

A "Capital" adventure

Charles Hecker

Author, Russianist, Geopolitical Risk Consultant, Media Contributor